Week 14 post

For every class that’s required it, I have undertaken blogging. And, it’s my least favorite class activity to do. At some point or the other, I end up falling behind on it. I blame my job as a writer for it. After 5 pm, I want to do something other than writing more stuff. J I should take up podcasting next time.

I do think maintaining blogs have helped me see the path I have taken during the course, how my learning has expanded, my attitudes have changed, and the new things that excite me. So, it’s definitely certainly a thermometer of sorts.

Despite my lack of love for maintaining blogs, I must confess that I have learned a lot from other people’s blogs. I tend to follow blogs who are experts or semi-experts in an area, and post blogs about that area of expertise. My blog reading has bettered my culinary skills for sure; I have picked up a thing or two about being a better technical writer and instructional designer; my interest and love for photography is on the rise.

And, if I ever want to write a book, I’m going to do it this way. I’d rather blog a book, than deal with publishers. Perhaps, this is how textbooks will appear in the future. Would love not to have to pay $150 for a book for one semester of reading.

As I was reading “Blogging Practices: An Analytical Framework,” I was intrigued by the use of the term “rules” with respect to blogs. Apparently, following these rules (more like guidelines) can determine whether you are accepted into a community of practitioners.

The article “Anonymity and Self-Disclosure on Weblogs” made me wonder how many anonymous blogs are out there. I have yet to come across a blog that gives no idea about the user’s identity. Typically, children’s names (even though there’ll be tons of pictures with them in it!) are protected, but that’s about it.

My “Tidbit of the Week” award goes to the article “Digital Tools Expand Options for Personalized Learning.” Creating individualized learning plans and then providing customized feedback means students can now make the best use of their strengths and improves in areas they need to. And, it does so without adding to the teachers’ burden.

I end this post on a sad note. In Prof. Bonk’s list of educational bloggers, he’s included Kim Foreman, a former professor of mine at San Francisco State University. Sadly, she passed away in 2010. But, I’m glad that the work she started in Africa is still continuing, I also know she inspired many of her students—including me—to be passionate about learning and designing instruction. You’ll always be remembered fondly, Ms. Foreman.

3 thoughts on “Week 14 post

    • Would the anonymity affect motivation and desire to write, would it affect the content? Both? Neither?
      (I am tempted to say just content, but I have nothing to back that up right this moment).

  1. I wonder how different blogs within a community differ from that of a forum – do they serve the same purpose (to share ideas, discuss topics)? Is it a matter of length (because I have seen some lengthy forum posts in my time elsewhere, not even related to school at all!).
    I share your…lack of enthusiasm for blogging. I never remember to do it, it is never a high priority for me, I would rather talk face to face or online over blogging. That said, I have found them to be incredibly useful for getting feedback when reflecting. Normally, my reflections are in my own head – pretty lonely in there, no one ever talks back with suggestions =(
    So blogs aren’t all that bad, but I’d rather not do them. Bring on forums (and a reason for participating in them instead of “Because you have to,” which is sadly how it seems the educational world works sometimes).

Leave a Reply

